@aparajita/capacitor-secure-storage or Strata Storage?
A Capacitor 8 plugin for secure key-value storage of JSON data in the iOS Keychain (with optional iCloud Keychain sync) and AES-GCM encrypted SharedPreferences on Android.
Last checked 7 Nov 2026. Open @aparajita/capacitor-secure-storage
Who each one suits.
Choose @aparajita/capacitor-secure-storage if you need iCloud Keychain sync of credentials across a user's devices, or you already pair it with the same author's biometric auth plugin.
Choose Strata Storage if you want a secure store that is also usable on the web in production, alongside preferences, SQLite, IndexedDB, cookies and the URL, with no runtime dependencies in the package.
The stores, side by side.
“Not stated” means the pages we checked don’t mention it. It doesn’t mean the library can’t do it.
| Store | @aparajita/capacitor-secure-storage | Strata Storage |
|---|
| localStorage | Partly (On the web data is stored unencrypted in localStorage for debugging only; the README says not to use it on the web in production) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| IndexedDB | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| sessionStorage | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Cookies | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| URL parameters as a store | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| iOS Keychain | Yes Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| Android secure storage (Keystore-backed) | Yes Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| Native preferences (UserDefaults / SharedPreferences) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Web and native stores behind one API | Partly (One API for the secure store only) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| No runtime dependencies | No (Depends on @capacitor/app, @capacitor/ios, @capacitor/core, @capacitor/android and @capacitor/keyboard) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
Licence, size, downloads.
| Fact | @aparajita/capacitor-secure-storage | Strata Storage |
|---|
| Licence | MIT Source | MIT Source |
|---|
| npm version | 8.0.1 | 3.1.4 |
|---|
| Bundle size | 3,535 bytes gzipped, 8,954 minified. For version 8.0.1. Checked 7 Nov 2026. JavaScript side only; the native code is not counted by bundlephobia Source | 21,468 bytes gzipped, 79,645 minified. For version 3.1.4. Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Weekly downloads | 607,888, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source | 486, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Cost | Open source under the MIT licence; no price is stated on the pages we checked Source | Free to install and use; the website takes voluntary support of an amount the supporter chooses |
|---|
Coming from @aparajita/capacitor-secure-storage?
The docs guide lists the calls that change and shows how to carry existing values over. Read the @aparajita/capacitor-secure-storage guide
All 12 libraries