@capacitor-community/sqlite or Strata Storage?
A community Capacitor plugin for native and Electron SQLite databases, with SQLCipher encryption on native and a web layer through jeep-sqlite.
Last checked 7 Nov 2026. Open @capacitor-community/sqlite
Who each one suits.
Choose @capacitor-community/sqlite if your app needs a full relational SQLite database with SQL, encryption through SQLCipher and an Electron target.
Choose Strata Storage if you need key-value storage that reaches SQLite on native through the same call as the Keychain, preferences and every browser store, without taking on SQL or SQLCipher's export paperwork.
The stores, side by side.
“Not stated” means the pages we checked don’t mention it. It doesn’t mean the library can’t do it.
| Store | @capacitor-community/sqlite | Strata Storage |
|---|
| localStorage | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| IndexedDB | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| sessionStorage | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Cookies | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| URL parameters as a store | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| iOS Keychain | Not stated on the pages we checked (The README configures an iosKeychainPrefix for the database passphrase, not a key-value Keychain store) | Yes |
|---|
| Android secure storage (Keystore-backed) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Native preferences (UserDefaults / SharedPreferences) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Web and native stores behind one API | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| No runtime dependencies | No (Depends on jeep-sqlite) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
Licence, size, downloads.
| Fact | @capacitor-community/sqlite | Strata Storage |
|---|
| Licence | MIT Source | MIT Source |
|---|
| npm version | 8.1.1 | 3.1.4 |
|---|
| Bundle size | 2,680 bytes gzipped, 13,852 minified. For version 8.1.1. Checked 7 Nov 2026. JavaScript side only; the native code is not counted by bundlephobia Source | 21,468 bytes gzipped, 79,645 minified. For version 3.1.4. Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Weekly downloads | 249,947, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source | 486, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Cost | Open source under the MIT licence; no price is stated on the pages we checked Source | Free to install and use; the website takes voluntary support of an amount the supporter chooses |
|---|
Coming from @capacitor-community/sqlite?
The docs guide lists the calls that change and shows how to carry existing values over. Read the @capacitor-community/sqlite guide
All 12 libraries