capacitor-secure-storage-plugin or Strata Storage?
A community Capacitor plugin for storing string secrets in the iOS Keychain and Android Keystore-backed SharedPreferences.
Last checked 7 Nov 2026. Open capacitor-secure-storage-plugin
Who each one suits.
Choose capacitor-secure-storage-plugin if you need one small plugin for a few string secrets on iOS and Android and nothing else.
Choose Strata Storage if the secure store is one of several your app writes to and you want the same storage.set() for the Keychain, preferences, SQLite and every web store, with objects, expiry and queries included.
The stores, side by side.
“Not stated” means the pages we checked don’t mention it. It doesn’t mean the library can’t do it.
| Store | capacitor-secure-storage-plugin | Strata Storage |
|---|
| localStorage | Partly (On the web values go to localStorage base64-encoded; the README says the browser has no secure storage) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| IndexedDB | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| sessionStorage | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Cookies | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| URL parameters as a store | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| iOS Keychain | Yes Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| Android secure storage (Keystore-backed) | Yes Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| Native preferences (UserDefaults / SharedPreferences) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Web and native stores behind one API | Partly (One API for the secure store only, string values) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| No runtime dependencies | Yes (@capacitor/core is a peer dependency) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
Licence, size, downloads.
| Fact | capacitor-secure-storage-plugin | Strata Storage |
|---|
| Licence | MIT Source | MIT Source |
|---|
| npm version | 0.13.0 | 3.1.4 |
|---|
| Bundle size | 268 bytes gzipped, 378 minified. For version 0.13.0. Checked 7 Nov 2026. JavaScript side only; the native code is not counted by bundlephobia Source | 21,468 bytes gzipped, 79,645 minified. For version 3.1.4. Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Weekly downloads | 219,773, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source | 486, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Cost | Open source under the MIT licence; no price is stated on the pages we checked Source | Free to install and use; the website takes voluntary support of an amount the supporter chooses |
|---|
Coming from capacitor-secure-storage-plugin?
The docs guide lists the calls that change and shows how to carry existing values over. Read the capacitor-secure-storage-plugin guide
All 12 libraries