Dexie.js or Strata Storage?
A wrapper library for IndexedDB with a schema, queries and bulk operations, plus an optional paid sync service called Dexie Cloud.
Last checked 7 Nov 2026. Open Dexie.js
Who each one suits.
Choose Dexie.js if what you need is a real client-side database on IndexedDB: versioned schemas, indexed queries, bulk writes and live queries.
Choose Strata Storage if you need key-value storage across web and native stores rather than a database, and you want the secure, preference and cookie layers under the same call as IndexedDB.
The stores, side by side.
“Not stated” means the pages we checked don’t mention it. It doesn’t mean the library can’t do it.
| Store | Dexie.js | Strata Storage |
|---|
| localStorage | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| IndexedDB | Yes Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| sessionStorage | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Cookies | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| URL parameters as a store | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| iOS Keychain | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Android secure storage (Keystore-backed) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Native preferences (UserDefaults / SharedPreferences) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Web and native stores behind one API | Not stated on the pages we checked (The README says it supports Capacitor for iOS and Android apps, meaning IndexedDB inside the webview; no native store is described) | Yes |
|---|
| No runtime dependencies | Yes Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
Licence, size, downloads.
| Fact | Dexie.js | Strata Storage |
|---|
| Licence | Apache-2.0 Source | MIT Source |
|---|
| npm version | 4.4.7 | 3.1.4 |
|---|
| Bundle size | 31,094 bytes gzipped, 97,946 minified. For version 4.4.7. Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | 21,468 bytes gzipped, 79,645 minified. For version 3.1.4. Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Weekly downloads | 3,400,609, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source | 486, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Cost | Open source under the Apache-2.0 licence; no price for the library is stated on the pages we checked. Dexie Cloud pricing was not checked Source | Free to install and use; the website takes voluntary support of an amount the supporter chooses |
|---|
Coming from Dexie.js?
The docs guide lists the calls that change and shows how to carry existing values over. Read the Dexie.js guide
All 12 libraries