@ionic/storage or Strata Storage?
Ionic's key-value storage helper built on localForage: IndexedDB and localStorage out of the box, SQLite through an extra driver, encryption through Ionic Secure Storage.
Last checked 7 Nov 2026. Open @ionic/storage
Who each one suits.
Choose @ionic/storage if you are on the Ionic stack already, use its Angular module, and plan to buy Ionic Secure Storage for encryption.
Choose Strata Storage if you want encryption (AES-GCM) and native secure storage in the free package itself, plus sessionStorage, cookies and the URL, with no localForage underneath.
The stores, side by side.
“Not stated” means the pages we checked don’t mention it. It doesn’t mean the library can’t do it.
| Store | @ionic/storage | Strata Storage |
|---|
| localStorage | Yes Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| IndexedDB | Yes Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| sessionStorage | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Cookies | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| URL parameters as a store | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| iOS Keychain | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Android secure storage (Keystore-backed) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Native preferences (UserDefaults / SharedPreferences) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Web and native stores behind one API | Partly (One API with a driver order; native SQLite needs a separately installed Cordova driver or Ionic Secure Storage) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| No runtime dependencies | No (Depends on localforage) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
Licence, size, downloads.
| Fact | @ionic/storage | Strata Storage |
|---|
| Licence | MIT Source | MIT Source |
|---|
| npm version | 4.0.0 | 3.1.4 |
|---|
| Bundle size | 9,446 bytes gzipped, 31,037 minified. For version 4.0.0. Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | 21,468 bytes gzipped, 79,645 minified. For version 3.1.4. Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Weekly downloads | 133,551, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source | 486, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Cost | Open source under the MIT licence; no price is stated on the pages we checked. Ionic Secure Storage, which the README recommends for encryption, was not priced Source | Free to install and use; the website takes voluntary support of an amount the supporter chooses |
|---|
Coming from @ionic/storage?
The docs guide lists the calls that change and shows how to carry existing values over. Read the @ionic/storage guide
All 12 libraries