localForage or Strata Storage?
An async key-value store for browsers that writes to IndexedDB or WebSQL and falls back to localStorage, with a localStorage-shaped API.
Last checked 7 Nov 2026. Open localForage
Who each one suits.
Choose localForage if you want a localStorage-shaped async API in the browser only, with a long track record and framework drivers already written for it.
Choose Strata Storage if the same app also runs under Capacitor and you want sessionStorage, cookies, the URL, Keychain and EncryptedSharedPreferences reachable through the one storage.set() call.
The stores, side by side.
“Not stated” means the pages we checked don’t mention it. It doesn’t mean the library can’t do it.
| Store | localForage | Strata Storage |
|---|
| localStorage | Yes Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| IndexedDB | Yes Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| sessionStorage | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Cookies | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| URL parameters as a store | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| iOS Keychain | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Android secure storage (Keystore-backed) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Native preferences (UserDefaults / SharedPreferences) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Web and native stores behind one API | No (The README says it is designed to run in the browser; no native store is described) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| No runtime dependencies | No (Depends on lie) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
Licence, size, downloads.
| Fact | localForage | Strata Storage |
|---|
| Licence | Apache-2.0 Source | MIT Source |
|---|
| npm version | 1.10.0 | 3.1.4 |
|---|
| Bundle size | 8,680 bytes gzipped, 28,346 minified. For version 1.10.0. Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | 21,468 bytes gzipped, 79,645 minified. For version 3.1.4. Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Weekly downloads | 11,046,386, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source | 486, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Cost | Open source under the Apache-2.0 licence; no price is stated on the pages we checked Source | Free to install and use; the website takes voluntary support of an amount the supporter chooses |
|---|
Coming from localForage?
The docs guide lists the calls that change and shows how to carry existing values over. Read the localForage guide
All 12 libraries