unstorage or Strata Storage?
A universal key-value layer from UnJS with mountable drivers for memory, filesystem, browser storage, Capacitor Preferences, databases and cloud object stores.
Last checked 7 Nov 2026. Open unstorage
Who each one suits.
Choose unstorage if the same code runs on servers and edge runtimes too and you want Redis, S3, Cloudflare KV or a database behind the same key-value calls.
Choose Strata Storage if your storage is on the device: it covers the Keychain, Android encrypted preferences, SQLite, cookies and the URL that unstorage's driver list doesn't name, with encryption, expiry and cross-tab sync as flags.
The stores, side by side.
“Not stated” means the pages we checked don’t mention it. It doesn’t mean the library can’t do it.
| Store | unstorage | Strata Storage |
|---|
| localStorage | Yes Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| IndexedDB | Yes (Through idb-keyval) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| sessionStorage | Yes Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| Cookies | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| URL parameters as a store | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| iOS Keychain | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Android secure storage (Keystore-backed) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Native preferences (UserDefaults / SharedPreferences) | Yes (Requires installing @capacitor/preferences separately) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| Web and native stores behind one API | Yes (Drivers are mounted on one storage instance; the native driver covers preferences only) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
| No runtime dependencies | Yes (No dependencies field; each driver's backend package is installed by you) Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | Yes |
|---|
Licence, size, downloads.
| Fact | unstorage | Strata Storage |
|---|
| Licence | MIT Source | MIT Source |
|---|
| npm version | 2.0.0-beta.0 (The registry's latest tag resolved to 2.0.0-beta.0 on 2026-11-07) | 3.1.4 |
|---|
| Bundle size | 5,453 bytes gzipped, 18,024 minified. For version 2.0.0-beta.0. Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source | 21,468 bytes gzipped, 79,645 minified. For version 3.1.4. Checked 7 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Weekly downloads | 25,875,178, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source | 486, 31 Oct 2026 to 6 Nov 2026 Source |
|---|
| Cost | Open source under the MIT licence; no price is stated on the pages we checked Source | Free to install and use; the website takes voluntary support of an amount the supporter chooses |
|---|
Coming from unstorage?
The docs guide lists the calls that change and shows how to carry existing values over. Read the unstorage guide
All 12 libraries